What I’ve learned in my 4 years of College

These past four years has been the best years of my life. If I could redo anything, I would not change a thing. Not only did I learn from inside the classroom, but I learned much more outside of it.

How to “just do you, man”

The best advice I have ever received was in my sophomore year I was pledging a fraternity. We were practicing on our homecoming skit and when we asked the active that made up the skit if we should do a certain thing he would always just tell us to “just do you, man.” He would say this often in other circumstances, but when he said it to me the first time it stuck with me. I know that it doesn’t really sound like advice but I thought about it and in life sometimes you just have to do what you think is best and not do what others are expecting you to do. This advice is what I would tell anyone who is going into their freshman year of college because college is really four years (or five) of being on your own and doing what you think is best for you.

How to manage time

Time management is something that you really have to focus on in college especially if you become involved with organizations, sports, or jobs. Although no one is perfect with time management, it is something that helps get through college and life after college.

What I want to do with my life

Most people will tell you that you will switch your major a couple of times throughout the first year or two of college. This is usually true and is why it is helpful that you don’t dive right into all of your major’s courses. Everyone has at one point in their freshman year ask why they have to take classes like World of the Arts and a science class when they aren’t majoring in anything close to science. To be honest, I like that I didn’t go right into my major’s classes because I still needed to figure out exactly what I wanted to do with my life. There is no way that I would have been ready to go into the work force after two years. I have been here for four years and I still feel like I am not ready to leave.  If a four year college was done in two years, I wouldn’t have learned all that I did outside of class that helped make me become ready for after college. Just as Ferris Bueller would say, “life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” Four years of college does go by as fast as people say, so take in all that you can so that you can really figure out what you wanna end up doing for the rest of your life.

 

 

Author: mikeconwayblog

Senior at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater majoring in Marketing with emphasis in Digital Marketing.

Leave a Reply

